Facebook cartoon profile picture

For the past month Facebook has been bombarded with cartoon profile pictures, it all started off as an event called “Change your dp to a cartoon from your childhood and help FIGHT CHILD ABUSE” and so far, there is 57,589 that have clicked attending. The description reads,”Change your Facebook profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood and invite your friends to do the same. Until monday there should be no human faces on facebook, but an invasion of memories! This is for a campaign against violence on children….This is to help raise awareness on the serious issue that is child abuse ..come on ppl [sic], keep inviting, we’ve already made the net news”

Yes, I must admit I clicked attending and changed my Facebook profile picture to my favourite cartoon (Lilo and Stitch). It seemed completely harmless at the time, everyone changing their profile pictures to cartoons and it brings back so many memories, but later I released, how would changing my profile picture help against violence on children, I’m glad that there is others share my same view-

Now, does anyone else remember the time everyone updates their status to “I like it….” okay, some of the statuses I saw was- “I like it on the kitchen table”, “I like it on my bed”, “I like it on the car” and so on and so on… you get the picture. Well first of all- they are not talking about where they like having sex. It was a campaign for Breast Cancer and by updating your status to where you like to put your handbag its apparently meant to help and raise awareness, well most people that I talked to had no idea what this “I like it” thing was all about! How would updating your status about where you like to put your ‘handbag’ help with anything?

So overall, Facebook is a viral disease. Instead of updating your status or changing your profile picture how about you go and actually donate to the National Breast Cancer Foundation or Unite for Children.

-m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment